Republicans win locally and statewide, keep US Senate, lose US House

(Photo courtesy of Barney Quick)

(Photo courtesy of Barney Quick)

SOUTH CENTRAL INDIANA–Hoosiers went to the polls yesterday, keeping Indiana red and handing the Republican Party a huge win for the state.

In Bartholomew County, incumbent Jorge Morales will keep his seat on the Bartholomew County Council. Bartholomew County Sheriff Matt Myers ran unopposed and was officially elected for another four-year term last night. Many local sheriffs races were decided in surrounding counties, with Johnson and Jackson Counties replacing incumbents at the end of their term limits. Republican Duane Burgess will succeed Doug Cox as Johnson County Sheriff and Rick Meyer will replace Mike Carothers in Jackson County. In Jennings County, incumbent Sheriff Gary Driver, a Democrat, was beaten by Republican Kenny Freeman.

In the Indiana race for United States Senate, newcomer Mike Braun defeated Democratic incumbent Joe Donnelly. In the US House of Representatives contests, incumbent Trey Hollingsworth defended his seat from Democrat Liz Watson and democrat Jeannine Lee Lake was no match for Republican Greg Pence, despite an endorsement from former late-night talk show host David Letterman.

At the state level, Republicans prevail also. Greg Walker retains his seat at the State Senate for District 41 and Chris Garten was elected State Senator for District 45. The State House of Representatives will see few changes. One of the newcomers to the Statehouse will be Ryan Lauer from District 59, who beat Democrat Dale Nowlin. Elsewhere, Randy Frye, Jim Lucas, and Woody Burton all emerged victors as well.

Nationally, Democrats took control of the House of Representatives for the first time since 2011, while Republicans kept the Senate in their favor and even picked up a couple of seats. In the hotly contested races for Governor in Georgia and Florida, Republicans squeaked by in both states.

Click here for a list of complete Election Day 2018 results.

Related posts